Figured Bass

George Frideric Handel: The Sonatas for Recorder   

"Complete edition in four volumes for recorder & b. c, edited by Michael Schneider and Panagiotis Linakis. The present new edition of Handel’s recorder sonatas differs from earlier publications primarily in the way in which the basso continuo is realized, which is by no means 'in the simplest possible form', but takes into account current knowledge about the art of the basso continuo accompaniment in Handel’s time. Like with few other compositions of the High Baroque, the variety of the structures and progressions indicated by the bass, and their compositional realization on a keyboard instrument are evidently fundamental to the idea of these sonatas."

(Edition Walhall, March 2019)


Here available: 



Prima Vista Exercise

Historical Sources